IWIB Apprenticeship Committee

​​The Illinois Workforce Innovation Board (IWIB) established the Apprenticeship Committee in 2016. The IWIB understands apprenticeship is a work-based learning model, which provides a workforce solution for employers and a career pathway strategy for apprentices. The Committee includes leaders representing all key apprenticeship stakeholders: business and industry, training providers, local workforce innovation boards, community based organizations, unions, philanthropies, community colleges, vocational rehabilitation, and the State Workforce Board.

The Committee's charge is to advise the IWIB on apprenticeship and to oversee the implementation of a comprehensive statewide plan with the following goals:
  • Fully integrate apprenticeship into state workforce development, education, and economic development strategies and programs;
  • Support the rapid development of new apprenticeship programs and/or the significant expansion of existing programs;
  • Support the development and recruitment of a diverse pipeline of apprentices; and
  • Build state capacity to make it easier for industry to start apprenticeship programs and for apprentices to access opportunities.

Click here to view the Committee's work plan.

Apprenticeship IL.png