Page Navigation

How to Get Started

Create your future workforce, reduce turnover, and improve productivity.

Build in-house talent through the "earn-and-learn" program that combines formal learning with paid, on-the-job training. The high-quality career pathway is driven by growing and emerging industries. Apprenticeships are a win-win for businesses and career seekers.

Apprenticeship Illinois Specialists is a one-stop concierge service to help your business build a Registered Apprenticeship program from start to finish at no cost.

Apprenticeship Specialists help employers:
  • Understand the Registered Apprenticeship training model.
  • Identify existing models for occupations of interest.
  • Connect to accredited training solutions and providers.
  • Draw up Standards and training plus education outlines based on input.
  • Submit recognition paperwork for the National Registered Apprenticeship System.
  • Assist with program updates as workforce needs evolve.
  • Coordinate sector partnerships between employers.

Find your local Apprenticeship Specialist by County.

Dianna Schuler

Candace Dickerson
State Specialist

Not sure who to connect with?
Don't see your County listed?
Contact the State Specialist!
Rosan Grant

Rason Grant
County: Lake

PhoneOffice: (847) 377-3442
Berenice Jaquez

Berenice Jaquez
Counties: Boone, Stephenson, Winnebago

PhoneOffice: (815) 395-6619

Dianna Schuler

Dianna Schuler
Counties: Bureau, Carroll, Jo Daviess, LaSalle, Lee, Putnam, Whiteside

PhoneOffice: (815) 640-9406
PhoneCell: (815) 631-2990

Griffin Leininger

Griffin Leininger
County: DuPage

PhoneOffice: (630) 955-2049

Amy Santacaterina

Amy Santacaterina
County: Cook

PhoneOffice: (312) 833-1571
Sarah Cleveland

Sarah Cleveland
Counties: Henry, Mercer, Rock Island

PhoneOffice: (309) 393-2590
Dirk Lefler

Dirk Lefler
Counties: Adams, Brown, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, McDonough, Pike, Schuyler, Warren
PhoneOffice: (309) 837-1280
PhoneCell: (217) 303-3424
Norm Griffin

Norm Griffin
Counties: Fulton, Marshall, Mason, McLean, Peoria, Tazewell, Stark, Woodford

PhoneOffice: (309) 321-0255
Taylor Black

Taylor Black
Counties: Champaign, Douglas, Ford, Iroquois, Piatt, Vermilion

PhoneOffice: (217) 369-6593

Bonita Forker

Bonita (Bonnie) Forker
Counties: Bond, Calhoun, Clinton, Jersey, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair, Washington

PhoneOffice: (618) 825-3270
PhoneCell: (618) 631-5091

Jamie Corda Hadjaoui

Jamie Corda Hadjaoui
Counties: Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Lawrence, Marion, Moultrie, Richland

PhoneOffice: (217) 238-8224

Emily Perks

Emily Perks
Counties: Alexander, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, Wabash, Wayne, White, Williamson

PhoneOffice: (618) 998-0970 ext. 202

Tax Credit Information
​The Illinois Apprenticeship Education Expense Tax Credit Program offers employers a tax credit for educational expenses of up to $3,500 per qualified apprentice and an additional $1,500 for each apprentice if:
 The apprentice resides in an underserved area or
Employer's principal place of business is in an underserved area.
Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity may not issue more than $5 million in total tax credits in a calendar year through this program, which is on a first-come-first-served basis from the date applications are received.
Download the Tax Credit Application and the Request form. Contact CEO.ApprenticeshipCredit@Illinois.gov for information. 

Why Apprenticeship?

DEIA Pledge
​Illinois is committed to making apprenticeships a safe, equitable opportunity for individuals from all backgrounds. As part of this commitment to diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility, apprenticeship employers have signed the DEIA Pledge.
Handshake Pledge Icon

Sign Up for the Monthly Bulletin & Contact Us

Employer Success Stories