

## OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

207 State House Springfield, Illinois 62706

## **JB PRITZKER**

GOVERNOR

May 24, 2019

The Honorable Don Munson County Board Chairman Douglas County 401 S Center St. Tuscola, IL 61953

Dear Chairman Munson:

I am pleased to advise you of my final approval of your request for Douglas County to realign with Local Workforce Innovation Area 17 ("LWIA 17") including Champaign, Iroquois, Ford and Piatt Counties. The realignment of Douglas County with LWIA 17 is in response to a monitoring finding by the United States Department of Labor regarding Section 106(a)(2) of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act and 20 C.F.R. § 679.210, which require local workforce areas to be located within a single economic development region. I understand that the reconfiguration of Douglas County within LWIA 17 will more effectively align economic and workforce development activities and resources.

After a review of the required agreements with the Chief Local Elected Officials and the Local Workforce Board, the LWIA 17 reconfiguration to include Douglas County is approved.

Sincerely,

J.B. Pritzker Governor

 cc: Erin Guthrie, Acting Director, Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity Thomas Chan, Director, Illinois Department of Employment Security Grace B. Hou, Secretary, Illinois Department Human Services Brian Durham, Executive Director, Illinois Community College Board Dalitso S. Sulamoyo, Chief Executive Officer, Champaign County Regional Planning Commission Gerry Schlechte, Director of Workforce Investment, Local Workforce Area 23